photo of Commissioner Eric Sklar

President Eric Sklar, of St. Helena California was appointed to the Commission in June of 2015. A Napa Valley vineyard owner, entrepreneur and former public official, Eric Sklar and his family have been growing grapes in Napa Valley for over 38 years. He recently founded CS2 Wines and is in the process of seeking approval for a new winery in the Oakville American Viticultural Area of Napa Valley

Eric was co-founder and Managing Partner (2005-2013) of Alpha Omega Winery in Rutherford, California. From 2003-2010 he served on the St. Helena City Council – the last two years as Vice-Mayor. In 2010, he was elected to the Board of the Napa Valley Vintners where he served as Treasurer and Vice-Chair, and from 2009-2011 he served as chair of the Napa Valley Vintners’ Community and Industry Issues Committee.

Eric was Chairman and CEO of Burrito Brothers, Inc, a restaurant chain he founded in 1989 based in Washington, DC and sold in 1999.  He was also an adjunct professor at Georgetown University’s School of Business where he taught courses in entrepreneurship, business strategy and marketing.

Starting his professional career in 1984 as the Assistant Press Secretary to Vice Presidential candidate Geraldine Ferraro, he went on to hold other political positions.  Those include Press Advance for Dukakis/Bentsen in 1988; Director and Founder of the American Small Business Alliance; Director and Secretary of The Coalition to Defend Working Families.

Eric received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science at the University of California at Berkeley in 1984, a Diploma in Business Studies at the London School of Economics in 1986, and a Master of Business Administration at Georgetown University in Washington, DC in 1997.

He is a retired volunteer for the St. Helena Fire Department.  He has also served on the boards of various organizations including the Napa Valley Transportation Agency, Business for Social Responsibility, the Metropolitan DC Restaurant Association among many others.

Eric is a sailor, hunter and loves backpacking the trails of California. He and his wife Erica live in St. Helena, CA, and have two daughters.

His term on the Commission expires January 15, 2017.


photo of Commissioner Jacque Hostler-Carmesin

Vice President Jacque Hostler-Carmesin, of McKinleyville, was appointed to the California Fish and Game Commission on June 4, 2013. Hostler-Carmesin has been chief executive officer at Cher Ae Heights Indian Community of the Trinidad Rancheria since 2010 and was director of transportation and land-use planning from 2007 to 2009. She was roads director at the Hoopa Tribal Roads Department from 2003 to 2007. Hostler-Carmesin served in multiple positions at the Redwood Empire Aggregates Inc. from 1990 to 2002, including payroll administrator and contract administrator.

Jacque was appointed to the National Ocean Council Governance Coordinating Committee by President Barack Obama in 2011 as one of three tribal representatives for the United States. She has been the primary California representative to the National Tribal Transportation Program since 2005 and vice chair since 2010. She has been a member of the CalTrans Native American Advisory Committee since 2006.

Her term on the Commission expires January 15, 2019.

Back to Top

photo of Commissioner Anthony C. Williams

Anthony C. Williams, of Huntington Beach, has been appointed to the California Fish and Game Commission. Williams has been director of government relations at the Boeing Company since 2014. He served as policy director and counsel in the Office of California State Senate President pro Tem Darrell Steinberg from 2010 to 2014, was founding partner at Wada Williams Law Group LLP from 2006 to 2010, director of government affairs at the State Bar of California from 2004 to 2006 and principal consultant for California State Senate President pro Tem John L. Burton from 2000 to 2004. Williams was a consultant for the California Democratic Party from 2000 to 2004, senior legislative advocate at the Judicial Council of California from 1994 to 2000, senior consultant at Ernst and Young LLP from 1993 to 1994 and a capital fellow in the Office of California State Assemblymember Thomas Hannigan from 1990 to 1991. He is founder and president of Stand Strong Foundation Inc. Williams earned a Juris Doctor degree from the University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law and a Master of Public Policy degree from the Harvard University, John F. Kennedy School of Government.

His term on the Commission expires January 15, 2021.

Back to Top



Back to Top